KASTEL

Christian Wressnegger is an Assistant Professor of Computer Science at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) heading the "Intelligent System Security" (intellisec) research group. He graduated at Graz University of Technology with a major in Computer Science and made his PhD at TU Braunschweig. His thesis "Efficient Machine Learning for Attack Detection" won the  CAST/GI Dissertation Award for IT-Security 2019 (Runner-up).

His research revolves around combining the fields of machine learning and computer security. He develops methods in the area of application security and system security, for instance, approaches for attack detection or vulnerability discovery in software and embedded devices. Also, the robustness, security, and interpretability of machine learning
methods are central to his research.

He has published papers in proceedings of a number of prestigious conferences (e.g. ACM CCS, DSN, and RAID) and journals (e.g. JMLR), some of which have been awarded. Moreover, he actively contributes to the community by serving on program and artifact evaluation committees (e.g. USENIX Security, PETS, and WWW) as well as organizing conferences (e.g. as PC-Chair at ARES 2020).

KASTEL

Christian Wressnegger ist Assistenzprofessor für Informatik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und leitet die Forschungsgruppe "Sicherheit intelligenter Systeme" (intellisec). Er schloss sein Studium an der Technischen Universität Graz mit dem Schwerpunkt Informatik ab und promovierte an der TU Braunschweig. Seine Dissertation "Effizientes maschinelles Lernen zur Angriffserkennung" gewann den zweiten Platz des CAST/GI-Dissertationspreises für IT-Sicherheit 2019.

Seine Forschung dreht sich um die Kombination der Bereiche maschinelles Lernen und Computersicherheit. Er entwickelt Methoden im Bereich der Anwendungs- und Systemsicherheit, z.B. Ansätze zur Angriffserkennung oder zur Entdeckung von Schwachstellen in Software und eingebetteten Geräten. Auch die Robustheit, Sicherheit und Interpretierbarkeit des maschinellen Lernens stehen im Mittelpunkt seiner Forschung.

Er hat Beiträge in Proceedings einer Reihe von angesehenen Konferenzen (z.B. ACM CCS, DSN und RAID) und Zeitschriften (z.B. JMLR) veröffentlicht, von denen einige ausgezeichnet wurden. Darüber hinaus trägt er aktiv zur Gemeinschaft bei, indem er in Programm- und Artefaktevaluierungskomitees (z.B. USENIX Security, PETS und WWW) mitarbeitet und Konferenzen organisiert (z.B. als PC-Vorsitzender bei ARES 2020).